top of page
Above the Clouds
Five Memorial Fragments

Duration: minutes
Opus: 68
Date: 2017



These five fragments, each lasting less than one minute, were written as a direct emotional response to the sudden death of my friend, the composer Peter Reynolds.

Ideas are presented without development or pre-composition with the intention of creating a sense of incompleteness.

Movements I & III should be played with appropriate rubato, movement IV in a flowing tempo and movements II & V should be played, within the suggested tempi, as fast as the performer’s technical abilities allow.

There should be a short pause for contemplation between each fragment.


Commissioned by

Lower Machen Festival

First performance

St Michael's Church, Lower Machen, July 2017
Andrew Wilson-Dickson (piano)

Score & Audio
bottom of page